DATE: 10 December 2017 // DOORS: 17:30 // CONCERT: 18:00


Under the title “Quiet Music ¦ Active Listening” Labor Neunzehn is pleased to invite you to the closing concert of the 2017 Cluster series, with music for trumpet and tuba from Mark Andre, Evan Johnson, Liza Lim and Haukur Þór Harðarson (world premiere) curated by Jack Adler-McKean.

Programme notes:

Evan Johnson: »Rückenfigur« für Solo Tuba (2016)
Mark Andre: »iv 6a und 6b« für Solo Trompete (2009-10)
Haukur þór Harðarson: »N.N.« für Solo Tuba (2017, UA)
Haukur þór Harðarson, Jack Adler-McKean, Matthew Conley: »Improvisation« für Tuba, Trompete, Elektronik (2017, UA)

Matthew Conley, Trompete
Jack Adler-McKean, Tuba
Haukur þór Harðarson, Komponist

This concert is kindly supported by Dezentrale Kulturarbeit Berlin-Treptow

FREE ENTRANCE but registration required
or email to cluster[at]laborneunzehn[dot]org



Cluster” is a music series devoted to sound investigation with a particular focus on contemporary languages, new music and extended techniques. “Cluster” supports the collaborative work and aims to offer an exchange platform for musicians, composers and electronic music performers in Berlin-Treptow.





Haukur þór Harðarson
Haukur was born in Reykjavík, Iceland and has studied music from early age starting with the trombone. He studied composition in the Icelandic Academy of the Arts with Atli Ingólfsson and Conservatorium van Amsterdam with teachers Richard Ayres and Wim Henderickx, as well as having had individual lessons with other composers through different masterclasses and workshops.
His works have been performed by Ensembles like Caput, Neon, Ensemble Recherche, Neue Vocalsolisten, Orkest de Ereprisj, Asko/Schönberg , Quatuor Diotima, Nieuw Ensemble, Tak and the Moscow contemporary music ensemble. Currently he is residing in Berlin where he freelances as a composer.


Matthew Conley
Matthew performs regularly with Ensemble musikFabrik, Klangforum Wien, Ensemble Modern, and Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin, among others. He is a founding member of the ensemble apparat, a brass quintet dedicated to the expansion of contemporary brass repertoire which, together with Ensemble Mosaik, Ensemble Adapter, and the Sonar Quartet, forms the Ensemblekollektiv Berlin. Matthew       is also a member of the Theatre of Eternal Music Brass Ensemble, performing the music of La Monte Young. He has appeared as soloist on Matthias Pintscher’s sonic eclipse at the 2011 cresc…. Biennale für Moderne Musik in Frankfurt am Main and the 2012 Slowind Festival in Ljubljana, Slovenia. He was a prizewinner at the 2011 Stockhausen Courses for his performance of OBERLIPPENTANZ für piccolo-trompete, and has subsequently been invited by the Stockhausen-Stiftung für Musik to perform the piece on many occasions. Additionally, Matthew has worked intensively with Markus Stockhausen and studied four consecutive summers at the Center for Advanced Musical Studies at Chosen Vale.


Jack Adler-McKean
Jack works primarily as a tubist, promoting his instrument to the contemporary musical world through collaborations with internationally renowned ensembles, composers and educational establishments. Recent work includes invitations to perform with ensembles including Klangforum Wien, Ensemble Modern and Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin, collaborations on solo works with Georges Aperghis, Michael Finnissy and Georg Freidrich Haas, giving seminars at the Royal College of Music, Columbia University and Hochschule Luzern, and première performances at the Darmstädter Ferienkurse, BBC Proms and Donaueschinger Musiktage as well as solo concerts in London, New York and Berlin. His own compositions and arrangements are currently published by Potenza Music, whist he has recently been asked to curate a new Contemporary Tuba Series for Edition Gravis, and in 2018 will be preparing the tuba edition of the “Spieltechnik” series for Bärenreiter.